The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award is dedicated to the memory of one of the recognized “Fathers of Air Traffic Control” and honors the lifelong achievements of an individual in the field of aviation. Glen Gilbert was a visionary who, along with Earl Ward, founded the U.S. air traffic system and dedicated his professional career to its improvement. The design of the trophy includes the Roman God Jupiter, deity of weather, sky, and light, and a depiction of the earth and its atmosphere.

The award trophy is inscribed with recipient names and was donated by ATCA Corporate Member, Raytheon Company. The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award is on permanent display in the Smithsonian’s National Air & Space Museum in Washington D.C. The trophy underwent a complete restoration in 2005 thanks to a generous donation by the Raytheon Company.

The Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award represents ATCA’s most prestigious honor. The Award is given during the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Banquet held during the ATCA Global Conference & Exposition.

Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Recipients

 2022  Massimo Garbini, Chief Executive Officer at ENAV; ATM Executive Board Member at Frequentis (Full Announcement)
2019 Daniel K. Elwell, FAA Deputy Administrator
2018  Linda Hall Daschle, Acting FAA Administrator; President, LHD & Associates, Inc. 
2017 Richard H. Anderson, Northwest Airlines, Inc and Delta Air Lines, Inc.
2016 Paul Rinaldi, President, NATCA
2015 Sid Koslow, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, NAV CANADA
2014 Monte Belger, Acting FAA Deputy Administrator; President, Metron Aviation
2013 Patrick Ky, Executive Director, European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
2012 Peter Challan, Vice President of Industry Relations, Harris Corporation
2011 Jane Garvey, Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; Chairman, Meridiam
2010 Neil R. Planzer, Vice President, The Boeing Company
2009 Allan McArtor, Chairman, Airbus Americas, Inc.
2008 John Crichton, President, CEO, NAV CANADA
2007 Gerald L. Thompson, Chairman, Jerry Thompson and Associates
2006 Garland “Cas” Castleberry, FAA Associate Administrator, President of ATCA
2005 James L. Oberstar, Congressman, U.S. House of Representatives
2004 Wolfgang Philipp, Senior Director, EUROCONTROL
2003 Andy Pitas, Founder of ATCA, Professional Air Traffic Controller
2002 Frank Frisbie, Northrup Grumman, FAA Deputy Associate Administrator
2001 William Pollard, CEO, Air Services Australia, Professional Air Traffic Controller
2000 Gabriel A. Hartl, Colonel USAF Retired, President of ATCA
1999 Langhorne Bond, FAA Administrator
1998 Stanley Seltzer, V.P., American Airlines, Professional Air Traffic Controller
1997 Yves Lambert, Director General of EUROCONTROL
1996 Norman Mineta, Secretary of Transportation, U.S. Congressman
1995 Captain Elrey B. Jeppesen, Airline Captain, Founder, Jeppesen & Co.
1994 Tirey Vickers, Editor of ATCA Journal, Professional Air Traffic Controller
1993 Joseph Del Balzo, Deputy FAA Administrator, Electrical Engineer
1991 John Winant, President, National Business Aircraft Association
1990 A. Scott Crossfield, Aircraft Test Pilot
1989 J. Lynn Helms, FAA Administrator, President, Piper Aircraft Co.
1988 Najeeb Halaby, FAA Administrator, President, Pan Am Airways
 1986  David Thomas, Deputy FAA Administrator, Professional Air Traffic Controller 
This website uses cookies to improve your experience. You may opt out if you wish. Please note that some site capability may be affected.
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • Welcome to the ATCA
  • 06 Jun 2018
    Hon. Linda Hall Daschle Named 2018 Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award Winner

    The Air Traffic Control Association (ATCA) is pleased to announce that former FAA Acting Administrator Linda Hall Daschle has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the prestigious Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, one of the most prominent awards in aviation and ATCA’s highest honor.

    A pioneer for women in air traffic management, Daschle was the first female to hold the post of Acting Administrator for the FAA. She began her aviation career in Kansas nearly 45 years ago as a licensed weather observer for the agency. In 1993, she was nominated by President Clinton and confirmed by the US Senate for the position of FAA Deputy Administrator. One of her first tasks involved an assessment of the agency’s key air traffic modernization program called the Advanced Automation System which was eventually overhauled, saving the agency an estimated $1.6 billion. She also oversaw the advancement of new regional airline safety regulations and conducted a review of the agency’s safety and surveillance program, which resulted in one of the single largest hires of new safety inspectors in FAA history. 

    Ms. Daschle has held numerous government and private-sector leadership positions, including with the American Association of Airport Executives, the Air Transport Association, the former Civil Aeronautics Board, and with the law firm of Baker Donelson. She is currently President of LHD & Associates, Inc, and serves on the board of Aireon, LLC.

    In accepting the Glen A. Gilbert Memorial Award, Ms. Daschle joins aviation greats, including Delta’s Richard Anderson, NATCA President Paul Rinaldi, the Hon. Jane Garvey, Boeing’s Neil Planzer, former Transportation Secretary Norman Mineta, and pilot A. Scott Crossfield. (View press release HERE.)

    Tickets will be available this month. For more information, visit

    Established in Washington, D.C., in 1956 by a group of air traffic controllers, the Air Traffic Control Association has been from the outset dedicated to progress in the science of air traffic control and the preservation of a safe flight environment.
    Contact Us
    1101 King Street,
    Suite 300, Alexandria,
    Virginia 22314
    Phone no.: 703-299-2430
    Fax: 703-299-2437
    Email to: